NaBloPoMo- An Adventure

Well, this is it. Today is November 30th, which signifies the end of 2016’s NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). Where did the month go?

November seems to have almost passed by in a blur. I feel like just yesterday I was posting my first blog for the month, anticipating what would come from my time full of blogging. As the days went on, I became more enraptured in the process. Blogging became therapeutic for me, the perfect way to end each day. Thoughts came spilling out as I typed; it was freeing.

NaBloPoMo has been an absolute adventure. I know that sounds cliche, but it’s honestly how I feel. Some days came easily and words flowed out. However, that wasn’t always the case. On days when I had writer’s block, I had to push through. I knew that a post needed to be made every day, whether it was perfect or not. NaBloPoMo helped me push past some of my issues with perfection and the anxiety to always do everything correctly. I had to keep going and put something out every day, regardless of whether or not I thought it was my best work. For that, I am thankful.

My posts this month were varied and lively. One day I would write about my hatred for the white oppression that falls every winter (snow of course) and the next I would write about the word surrender and what it means to me. I wrote about the election and my feelings regarding it. I focused on what I was thankful for. Harry Potter and Hogwarts took center stage as well as my love for middle schoolers. I highlighted the best movie quotes ever and wrote a message to my mom, my number one fan. These posts highlighted some of my thoughts throughout the month; they were my saving grace on days when I needed an outlet for stress.

Looking back, I’m proud of my posts. I’m proud of pushing through blocks and posting every. single. day this month. I’m proud of my thoughts. I’m proud of sharing my opinions. I’m proud of sticking with it, even when it got hard. I’m proud.

NaBloPoMo started off as an assignment. I wanted an A and didn’t mind blogging, so I thought this was the best choice. However, it became so much more. This journey of learning will stick with me for a long time. Blogging is important, and I can’t wait to share it with my future students.

Thank you for allowing me to be open and honest in such a public setting. Thank you to those that took the time to read through my posts and provide feedback for me. I have loved this adventure and am forever grateful for the learning it provided.

Leave a Reply

