For those who are lonely this holiday.

My heart is so full.

There’s nothing quite like spending time with your family to fill up your empty spaces. I always leave family gatherings feeling refreshed and renewed. I love catching up with my cousins and aunts and uncles while eating some delicious home cooked meals. We reflect on our lives and our semesters, laughing all afternoon. It’s also a tradition that we cap off our Thanksgiving night with an airing of The Grinch, a reminder that we will see each other again in a few short weeks. It patches up my stress and anxiety, leaving me feeling at peace.

But I know that not everyone is as lucky as I am.

I’m sure that many of you are feeling alone this Thanksgiving. Whether it’s emotionally lonely or physically separated from family and friends, I can’t imagine how difficult that is for you. And I won’t pretend to. I’m lucky enough to celebrate all holidays twice each year: once with my dad’s side and once with my mom’s side. I get double the laughs and double the food (so I roll away instead of walking). But I’m not stupid. I know that there are plenty of people feeling alone right now, hating the holidays because of the feelings they stir up.

I want these people to know one thing: you are loved.

Regardless of what you may think or believe, you are so incredibly loved. God looks down on us and sees an image that he created. It doesn’t matter if you believe in him; He still loves you. It doesn’t matter your race, weight, height, belief system, relationship status, or past. God loves you, no matter what.

If you’re feeling the weight of today on your heart, call out to Him. He will be your rock in the shifting sands of life. He will comfort and heal your wounds. We all have down times when we feel as though life just isn’t fair. He understands that and wants nothing more than to have you trust in His plan and vision in your life. He asks that we only be still while He works in our favor.

So, if you’re having a hard time being thankful for something this weekend, be thankful that we serve a God that loves and protects us. Be thankful He sent His only son to die and set us free. Be thankful that you have a solid rock in the shifting sands of life. Be thankful for His all-consuming, unending love. Be thankful that no one can judge but Him. Trust in His word and plans for your life; He has great things in store.

And if that doesn’t work, let me know. If this just doesn’t seem like something you can wholeheartedly believe in, please get ahold of me. I’d love to talk with you and pray for you. I have seen so many people struggle through this holiday season, and I don’t want that to be you. Life is hard; allow yourself to lean on someone.

Above all else, know that you are never alone.

 

Leave a Reply

