“Everything I am, you taught me to be.”

My mother… she is beautiful, softened at the edges, and tempered with a spine of steel. I want to grow old and be like her. – Jodi Picoult

Growing up, I was constantly told that I looked just like my mom. Strangers would approach me in public and ask me if I was related to Kristene Phillips. Relatives pulled out pictures often to compare me to my mom at certain ages. And, to be honest, we do look freakishly alike in many aspects. We both had long, dark hair and the same eyes. Comments always flooded in on how much my mom and I were alike, and I never fully understood how much of a compliment this was until I aged some.

FullSizeRender-6.jpg

My mom is one of the most amazing people I know. She has stuck by me through everything: she was my biggest fan at the state spelling bee 2 years in a row, missing out on her birthday celebration to turn the attention to me. Mom was my own personal nurse following my ACL/Meniscus tear and did everything to make me feel comfortable. She cried at my graduation and hugged me tighter than anyone in the entire gym. She attended every single volleyball and basketball game possible, giving up her few hours of alone time. No matter what the occasion, my mom was present.

If I had to pick one word to describe my mom, it would be selfless. A child never realizes what a parent has to sacrifice in their own life to give their children the best possible one until they’re grown. My mother is truly the most selfless person I know; she constantly gives of herself and puts me and my siblings in front of her wants. Mom sacrificed relaxation nights in order to go to my events. She sacrificed having a state-of-the-art home with fabulous interior decorating to be sure we always had all of our wants. Before money was spent on her, she was always sure we got what we needed (and often what we wanted). She gave her time, and let me tell you, we took a lot of it. But, she did this without complaining, because she wanted us all to be happy and healthy.

FullSizeRender-5.jpg

Mom, everything I am you, taught me to be. You taught me to be brave in the face of adversity. You taught me to love everyone around me, despite their differences in looks, opinions, or capabilities. You taught me to be humble at all times. You taught me that it’s okay to cry while watching TV (Oprah must have really touched your life). You taught me that getting into PJ’s at 6:30 on a Friday night is not only acceptable, but also encouraged. You taught me to trust and believe in people.You taught me to follow my dreams and never give up when things got hard. You taught me the power of hard work. I owe who I am today to you.

When I hear how alike my mom and I are today, I am overtaken by pride and joy. I couldn’t aspire to be a better person/teacher/future mom. Mom, you are my biggest supporter and rock. I hope to one day be half the mom you have been to me; thank you. Thank you for your listening ear and advice. Thank you for texting me to be sure I make it safely to my destination because you know I’ll forget to text you. Thank you for letting me make mistakes but still loving me afterwards. To put it simply, you are the best. I love you more than words can say. ❤

One thought on ““Everything I am, you taught me to be.”

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo- An Adventure – Regan Garey

Leave a Reply

