Ignite Your Fire

Sometimes, it’s downright hard to keep the fire warm.

I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve started out feeling really great about an idea I have only to get halfway through and hate it. I get stuck in the monotony of the story or blog post or activity and quit. Yes, you read that right: I can be a quitter at times. I become tired of not seeing the result that I want or don’t see a great end in sight. My response? Chalk it up as an “L” and keep trucking along.

But this isn’t always the right answer. As a future educator, I understand that I can’t just always stop when things aren’t going my way. That’s when you need to fight harder to achieve your goals and your pursuits. Does this always mean sticking on the exact same path you were following earlier? No, not at all. In fact, it probably means you’d better find a different way to get where you want to go. Not liking the story you’re writing? Pick a different prompt and restart; don’t quit altogether, just find a new spark to keep the flame lit.

I’ve decided that we cannot quit. It’s as simple as that. Admitting failure only makes you feel like a failure, and I’ve felt that way far too many times in my life. I’ve admitted failure in my many workout and healthy eating pursuits. I’ve admitted failure on numerous writing adventures, chalking them up as “not good enough” to be seen by others. I’ve admitted failure in my personal life. Sometimes the fire beneath my passions gets blown out, and I’m left scrambling to pick up the wreckage.

However, I’m calling a do-over (and I can do this because it’s my life, darn it). Recently I hit a pretty low point in my life. I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to be doing or where I was supposed to go. I felt tired, bogged down, sick, and just plain sad. After a lot of prayer, I’ve pulled myself back up and have decided to revamp Regan (catchy, right? I’m going to trademark it).

Operation Revamp Regan technically doesn’t start until Monday, but I’m putting in some behind the scenes work now. Here’s the deal: I’m tired of not having fire in my life. I think my flame has been out for quite some time, but I’m just now starting to feel the cold and shivers as a result. I need to light the flame again; I need to be working towards something and really trying to better myself. I only have one earthly life to live, and I plan on living it to the fullest. I want to work towards being closer with God. I want to work towards the body I’ve always wanted but have always said “next time” to. I want to work on my body of work (journals, this blog, papers, etc.) because it’s important to me and my ideas matter. I want my flame to burn brightly.

Now it’s time to take the first step. Join me?

mlJGaGk.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

