My King > My President

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”
– Hebrews 13:8

I’m going to open this post with a blunt and honest statement: the election is causing anxiety about the future of our country, and bigotry is running rampant; I hate it.

I love America and the people it produces. I love the freedoms we are given and the way we are able to pull together in true times of need. I love steak, baseball, and driving on dirt roads; how much more American can you get?

But do you know what I don’t love? I don’t love how political bigotry divides us. I don’t love opening my Facebook app only to read people of all ages tearing each other down based on their opinions. I don’t love seeing hate spread like wildfire amongst the people of our great country. I hate to see the rifts among family members and friends; in fact, it breaks my heart a little bit. I hate to see the anxiety and stress for the future of our country that comes with a highly controversial election.

I want to make one point abundantly clear before you read more- I understand how important this election is. Please know that I am in no way demeaning the facts and issues that have been debated and scrutinized for months. To put it simply, they are important; there is no question about that. I love our country, and I hope that I can continue to claim my status as an American after the election is over with as much pride as I do now. However, I am tired.

I’m tired of seeing the worry and anxiety that this election season has brought upon us. I’m tired of hearing people question their futures on a daily basis. This has possibly been the hardest thing for me to witness this election season. A picture shared by a friend on Facebook today simply stated “United States of Anxiety, am I right?” The worry felt by the population has weighed on my heart heavily, and I cannot stress how often I have prayed over it and for those feeling the burden of it. So, I’m going to point out a fact that I hope sends peace shooting through your soul like it did mine:

Although we may elect a new president today, Jesus Christ is still King over all.

Wow. What a comfort and balm to my anxiety stricken soul. When the world seems dismal and we question the direction of our country’s future, we can lean on the One who knows all. We can trust in the fact that He holds us in His palm and is ready for anything. He knows the plans that we don’t, and He puts the greatest plans in motion even when it may not seem like it. Jeremiah 29:11 tells us that, and I choose to believe His word over anything else. Once this is realized, we should throw our questioning hearts out the window.

For the LORD Most High is awesome, the great King over all the earth.

-Psalm 47:2

No matter what happens tonight as the polls close, we can all take refuge in the strong tower that is our Lord. As important as this election is, I am choosing to focus on the truth that is presented through Jesus. No matter what happens tonight, Jesus is King. He is the same today as he was yesterday and will be tomorrow. He is the one constant in our world of shifting opinions. He alone can truly save us: not Trump, not Clinton.

Yes, I am an American, but I am a child of God before that. I know the truth and who holds me. I know in whom my future rests, and it’s certainly not in any of the candidates. Whether your candidate wins tonight or not, I hope you find peace in the knowledge that Jesus is now and forever will be King.

trilogy-68582_1280.jpg

(Image CC: Pixabay.com)

Is it too late to write Him in?

Regan

5 thoughts on “My King > My President

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo- An Adventure – Regan Garey

Leave a Reply

