ILP: Back Porch Paradise

How do you define the word ‘paradise?’ To you, is paradise sitting on a beach in the warm sand, catching some rays? Or is paradise skiing in the mountains? What about laying around watching a TV marathon (Say Yes to the Dress anyone?)? I’m a firm believer that there is more than one version of paradise out there for everyone. When we find it, we can just feel it.

This week, I found paradise on my back porch.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Now, don’t get me wrong. I do love the ocean. In fact, I would have loved to make a trip down there this summer. However, reality has a funny way of showing us that sometimes what we want just isn’t possible. I work 40 hours a week and try to save as much money as I can for school, rent, and bills the upcoming year. A tropical vacation just isn’t in the books for me.

But, despite all of that, I felt a slice of paradise this past week. This weekend has been colder than normal here at home. As I got off work on Friday, I just wanted to relax and start to enjoy my 3-day weekend at home. So, what did I do? After supper, I grabbed a lawn chair, a stool, an ice cold Diet Dr. Pepper, a fuzzy red blanket, and my book and plopped myself down on the porch. I propped my legs up and began reading in the 68-degree weather. And I read. And I read. I kept reading until small raindrops began to fall from the cloudy, gray sky, telling me it was time to wrap it up. As I was forced to pack my stuff up, I realized that I had been left alone for a large chunk of time to read outside in beautiful blanket weather. A mosquito hadn’t bitten me. I’d read over 200 pages and had fallen in love with a new book. To me, I was in paradise.

As far as my book selection went this week, I’d say that I’m pretty pleased. I finished The Brilliant Light of Amber Sunrise by Matthew Crow and Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy this week. My wonderful high school Ag teacher, Mrs. Mortensen, heard about my project and volunteered her services and library card. Thursday, she returned with a bag full of books off of my TBR list for me to read. How awesome is that?!

I read stories about love in the cancer ward of a United Kingdom hospital. I cried as Francis had to cope with the loss of his hair, his dad, and his best friend, Amber. I read Willowdean’s story and felt her pain of never feeling quite good enough. I watched her battle her insecurities and high school growing pains. I watched her (and Francis) grow.

It was a good week.

Best,

Regan 🙂

P.S.- For full conversations on my books, please check out my Goodreads page! I tend to babble on too much in my blog to get full reviews out there. 😉

 

 

6 thoughts on “ILP: Back Porch Paradise

  1. Regan,
    I love reading as well! I’m on a trip to Mexico right now and my book of choice is “autumn” by David Moody. It’s a thrilling book about these 3 main survivors of a horrible zombie (although they don’t know these are human eating zombies yet) apocalypse. They’ve just left the community center and 20 or so other survivors behind in hopes of a better place to protect them.
    I feel as if I’ve read Dumplin’ before. I simply love the title! It’s very unique and it sounds like a good book! After reading your review, no, I have not read the book, but it seems like a good read! I’ll have to check it out from the library when I get home! The Brilliant Light of Amber sounds very interesting too. I can’t wait to get new book ideas from you!
    Nancy

    Like

    1. Reading is just the best!! Ah, I bet you’re having a blast in Mexico. I haven’t heard of that book, but I’ll have to check it out! Definitely look into both of them. They are fantastic! I just finished Emmy & Oliver, and I would definitely recommend that as well. 🙂 Thanks for the read, Nancy!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Say Yes to the Dress, ME! Reading a good book, in my opinion, is paradise. I would also consider paradise to be the mountains. I have only been to the mountains twice, and I all I did was walk around and enjoy the scenery, but I fell in love! Reading a book in the mountains would be a great experience, in my opinion. I am glad that you got some time to yourself since you work so much. Online classes can also take up a lot of your free time. I will be visiting your Goodreads page!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your comment, Ashton! I just love that show so much. I binge watch it every Bride Day Friday. 😉 The mountains are beautiful! That really does sound like a great experience. Definitely check it out! There is a lot to sort through, but I’ve read some great books. I hope you find a book or two to read on there! 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve been wanting to read Dumplin’ for a while. I thought this might apply to your project: you can include a Goodreads widget in your sidebar. I’ve got in on my blog and it’s really easy to add. It would be a great way to show us what you’re reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

